Selma today

SelmaIn celebration of Martin Luther King Day, we journeyed to the local theater to see Selma, an excellent film that reminded me how much remains to do (and, unfortunately, redo) since Martin’s passing:

When I hear about Ferguson, I think about Selma.
When I read about the Supreme Court decision to vacate portions of the Voting Rights Act, I think about Selma.
When democracy is shrouded in corporatocracy, I think about Selma.
When reactionaries interfere with a woman’s right to choose or a person’s right to marry, I think of Selma.
When I am forced to acknowledge continuing discrimination against the poor, the young, people of color, ethnic minorities, and women, I think about Selma, and I wonder:

Who will be the next Martin Luther King Jr.?
When will we rise up again in the name of what’s just and fair?

Leave a Reply

